Factory vs. Aftermarket Navigation - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-18-2010, 07:54 AM   #1 (permalink)

Car: 2010 Outback Limited 2.5i
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Factory vs. Aftermarket Navigation

Hi,
Subie Newbie here. I am pondering a 2010 Outback Limited w/NAV.

First, I've heard mostly negative reviews of Subaru's NAV. Anybody really like it?

I see the Subaru Nav unit is mounted in a double-DIN spot in the dash, and below that there's some sort of DVD/stereo unit as well. But 5 years from now, when the Outback NAV unit goes out, I'll likely install something else. But the aftermarket units seem to all be rolled into the single double-DIN package, no extra volume-control unit or such necessary along with it. So if I DO replace the NAV unit in the future, I'd have a then-useless stereo sitting in my dash.

So I think I should get the car without NAV, and put in a Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT (or similar). http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...10BT.html#tabs But I don't feel 100% comfortable with that. I'm reasonably mechanical and not too afraid to rip things apart. That said, I have some questions:
  • First, will I miss any functionality in the Subaru unit that cannot be duplicated in the aftermarket unit? ...On-board MPG stats, for example? Something else esoteric?
Furthermore,
  • Are aftermarket units generally easy to install?
  • Will the aftermarket install look clumsy, or will it look elegant? I notice that Metra has the double-DIN bracket. http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...+95-8904B.html How does it look? Do you have any pictures?
  • The Metra bracket changes the angle of the screen, it seems; it's more vertically oriented than the original. Does that help or hurt the visibility or usability? Or neither?