Subaru Outback Forums banner

2007 Subaru Outback Reliability?

16K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  rustbeltah 
#1 ·
Hi, in for some of your expertise. I am in the market for either a Outback or a Forester. Is there anything that I should watch out for? Any specific year model or gen that I should stay away from? Any comment will be helpful. Thank you.

#2 ·
Hey there. So I have a 06 OB XT (the Turbo model) and I am no expert but here are some things I do know.
Depending on milage, head gaskets can begin to fail and you want to keep your eye on it.
Also very important make sure that they have changed the timing belt on schedule and when they did they put a good kit in and not something super cheap.
I know the most about the Turbo outback. I can tell my girlfriend bought a 08 Forrester and it's been fantastic. Let me know if you have any more questions. I'll keep thinking and if I remember anything I'll let you know.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Hey Alex, Thank you for sharing your experience.

The one I have in mind or one I am looking at is 2005 2.5i Limited. From the ad it doesn't seem like timing belt has been done. But then the vehicle only has 76k miles.

How is the road noise on these cars by the way?

#4 ·
Some maintenance items specify a time interval as well as a mileage interval - whichever comes first. In the case of timing belt, it's 105k miles or 105 months. For most of us, mileage is the determination, not time. For this 2007 with only 76k miles, however, it's due right about now for a timing belt, which is possibly why it's being sold.

Factor this in to the price you pay. And if you're smart, have the car inspected by a trusted mechanic before purchase for anything else; there might be external head gasket weeping.

You will have to fix the head gaskets at some point. My 2008 2.5i went 8 years / 101.4k miles, and that's pretty typical, per our failure log here: