Interested in a N/A 3rd Gen as first car. Worried about reliability. - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 04:32 PM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Interested in a N/A 3rd Gen as first car. Worried about reliability.

Hey guys, I'm a college student in need of a car. I have the first two weeks of summer to sort this out before classes and work.

I really like the pillarless doors and the front end, but there are a bunch of threads on here talking about issues with head gaskets and timing belts. I have a budget of around ~10k and I'm on the fence on the route I should go to find a reliable N/A Outback that would last me 2 years. What do you guys think would make the most sense?

Option 1:
Outback nearing ~100k miles that have no mention of any timing belt change in the carfax (semi-regular oil changes) at a Subaru dealership for around ~9k.

Option 2:
Outback in the 160k+ mile range on Craigslist for ~$5k with a completely unknown service history (at a few buy here pay here dealerships) and then take it to the shop to do anything and everything it needs.

Option 3:
Legacy sedan/Outback at small family dealerships that only deal with Subarus. I've noticed a few of them around me. It looks as if they just buy Subarus nearing 100k miles and do headgaskets, replace timing belt, then put them right back into the market. It could be the skeptic in me, but this just reads a little like a scam to me. These are priced around 7-9k?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 12:31 AM

Car: 2007 Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited
Garage
Is there an option 4: keep looking?