What to watch for when buying a used XT - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 10:24 AM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What to watch for when buying a used XT

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Subarus and considering the Outback XT. I've been a long time SUV driver, but really never used it for any towing or off-roading, etc, so now that it's time to look for a replacement, I've been reviewing a few models and the Outback XT seems a bit too fun not to consider. My question is, I know almost zero about Subarus in general and never owned a Turbo.

So, please excuse the total rookie question, but what are some of the things to watch out for on the XT models? I'll be looking for primarily AZ vehicles, so heat is a factor around here as well. Also, what maintenance and such could one expect from one with approximately 80K miles?

Auto vs Manual concerns?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 12:28 PM

Car: 2006 Outback XT Limited
Hi and welcome. Good luck finding an XT. In my opinion they are the italian supermodels of Subarus: They look great and the performance is amazing, but they can be fussy, high maintenance and expensive, at least relative to a regular wagon.

I suggest you read this thread:2005 Outback XT Limited with 102k.You can learn a lot.

Overwhelmingly, the most important thing to look for is a complete set of maintenance documentation from the previous owner(s). These cars can last a long time if cared for properly, but the sting is that they will get into expensive problems FAST if someone skimped on the upkeep. Regular outbacks are more forgiving in this regard.