2003 Outback Engine Swap - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-22-2013, 08:13 AM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2003 Outback Engine Swap

Hey guys and gals of course. I'm a newbie to the subaru family so be gentle. My latest project is a 2003 outback MT EJ25. I bought the car with a bad engine and was lucky enough to find a low mileage 01 engine for a reasonible price. The 01 came out of an auto car and just getting the engine out of my car last night have noticed some differences. My 03 has egr the 01 does not. The heads appear to be different to accomadate the egr is this true? I also noticed some differences in the wiring harness as well. I guess my question is what all do i need to do to make this swap work. Im guessing since i have no egr im gonna see faults check engine lights etc. Is there anything else i need to be aware of. Thanks
WVSuby74 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2013, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)

Car: 2003 LLBean H6 Outback

This might be one of those where the sensor wheel for the ignition is different, on the heads or on the crank, not sure which.

This bit a friend of mine that swapped an auto into a manual (or vice versa, forget which)
CNY_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)

Exactly,thats why i wanna chat with someone directly who has done this kinda swap before. There are tons of internet mechanics out there but i wanna talk to the person who has actual experience with this kinda swap.
WVSuby74 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2013, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)

Car: 2004 Outback Wagon, 2.5, and auto