Subaru Outback Forums banner

Looking at a 2nd Gen OB Tomorrow...

2K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  nworbetan 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I have been looking for an Outback for a while, and I think I may have finally found one. I am looking at it tomorrow. Is there anything I should look out for in particular? Am I capable of doing my own pre-purchase inspection? I am no expert but I feel as though I know a little more than the average bloke. What do you think?

Also, it is a 2003 with 164,000 on the clock. Head gaskets, timing belt, etc. all done. Does this sound like a wise buy? I am in college and looking for something more efficient, capable, more reliable, and less obnoxious than my dad's Buick Rendezvous (LOL) that I am currently driving. So, while I'm not SUPER poor, but I am in college and it would be ideal to not have too many things go wrong. I'm relatively handy with a wrench (and some good direction) so I know I can save a few bucks there. My question is this: do you think this is a good investment?

Thanks guys!

#2 ·
Ask for written proof that the head gaskets and timing belt were done. These cars are notorious for head gasket problems and some folks will tell you the work was done, or have it done half-assed to get over that problem when selling the car.

Also make sure it has four identical tires on it. Mismatched tires wreak havoc on the car's AWD system and can cause long term expensive damage. I've replaced a transmission because the previous owner drove for years with one mismatched tire.