tongue weight and towing - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-27-2013, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)

Car: 2000 Outback 2.5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question tongue weight and towing

Hi all! long time lurker, first time poster.

I've got a 2000 Outback 2.5 (AT), and my wife and I are looking at a vintage Apache "Mesa" popup trailer, but I've got some concerns about towing (I'm new to towing). The Outback is limited to 2000 lbs. towing/200 lbs. tongue weight, while the Mesa weighs in at about 1400 lbs./200-300 lbs tongue weight. (found some specs here - see the Mesa section)

We're planning on working/traveling in it for a year around the country. We'll set up camp for 2-3 weeks, then move on, so while we won't be towing constantly, when we do tow it may be for long stretches (upwards of 500 miles or so). Since it's around the US, imagine every kind of towing situation (open plains to high mountain passes, cold to hot weather).

I assume a 1400 lb. trailer along with whatever gear we bring with us will be really close to that 2000 lbs. if not slightly over, and probably well over that 200 lbs. tongue weight, so here are my main questions:

1: what is the consequence of going over the tongue weight?
2: could the car handle this, or should we look at other options (option b is an 80's VW Westfalia)?

I've done some searching and found some good advice (transmission cooler will be installed!) and even found Outback owners pulling Apache popups, but they haven't been specific to my model (usually H6's) so I would appreciate any advice before I invest anything!
torbot is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2013, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by torbot View Post
Hi all! long time lurker, first time poster.