AWD not working - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-13-2011, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default AWD not working

Hey all, brand new to the forum and a new outback owner. Have a 96 outback and the all wheel drive is not working. Its a 2.5 auto, there is no fuse in the fwd slot and also there is no awd light that displays during startup. The olny diagnosis I have done so far is to jack all 4 tires up and put it in gear. The rear drivline is dead, nothing turns. I have read and searched with no luck and could use some help. I am a seasond toyota mechanic with no idea on how this system works. I ran across a few mentions about the vc but nothing detailed. thanks
peapicker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2011, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)

Car: 07 OBW 2.5i D-4AT
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Is there a propeller shaft going from the back of the transmission to the (a) rear differential? (Subaru, around that time, made both FWD and AWD versions and some have been caught by this.)

Automatic or manual? The manual will not have an AWD light. The automatic will, and when the key is turned to On, but the engine not started, it should come on, at least for a short time. If it does not, the bulb is probably burned out. (There is also an AT Oil Temp light that is important for the OBD. It too should come on when the key is at On, and it should not flash -- this would indicate a detected problem.