Buying a used trailer: What to look out for? - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 01:01 AM Thread Starter

Car: '14, 2.5 SAP w/Eyesight
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Buying a used trailer: What to look out for?

Just installed a Uhual/Hidden-Hitch Class III hitch on my OB and am in the market for a 4x6 enclosed trailer for light hauling and camping trips. There are a few used trailers in my area and I'm wondering what I should look out for, or inspect prior to buying one. I'm a newbie to trailers. Any tips from seasoned tow-ers?

2nd & Current OB: '14 2.5 Limited SAP w/ Eyesight in Carbide Gray. Mods: 19mm STI RSB, Fumoto Valve, LED interior lights, Hella Supertones, plasti-dipped wheels, front grille, side emblems, rear badges, seat back protectors, side cargo nets. Soon: body side moldings.

1st: '12 Premium 2.5i AWP Black
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 10:18 AM

Car: 2008 Outback 2.5i
The big thing is the floor should be hard with no soft spots from water damage.

To reduce the asking price, the tires should not be older then 5 years, there is a manufacture date stamp on them. Also ask when the wheel bearings were last repacked. It is a simple job but most people never bother repacking them.

Also, I would suggest going up 1 size to 5x8 or 9. Usually the door opening is narrower then the inside width. So, 4ft wide trailer only has a 3ft 9 inch opening. It might not matter to you now, but it is a big pia. I have to remove the cutting deck to load the tractor in my brothers 4x6.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 10:39 AM

Car: '13 2.5 Premium
Electrical. Check all the wiring for splices or corrosion. Simple enough to fix, but worth knowing about ahead of time.
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-10-2013, 10:50 AM

Car: 2012 Outback 2.5 i Premium