Subaru Outback Forums banner

What to do with some OEM tires?

16K views 69 replies 41 participants last post by  jetman 
#1 ·
I am planning on getting new tires for my 2016 3.6 and found there is NO interest in the OEM tires. They now have ~ 1,300 miles on them.

This was a surprise. I was hoping on getting a few $$ for them and I'd hate to just throw them away.

Anyone have any suggestions?

#3 ·
Well, can't say I'm surprised. The Duelers are the worst tires I've had in recent memory (however, to be fair, I've been running Michelins for the past 7 years). They absolutely stink in snow and I've also noticed, on two separate occasions now, they seem to hydroplane fairly easily. Fortunately for me we had a mild winter, so now I can wait until the fall to get rid of them, but I'll definitely be using a little extra caution in heavy rain. Even checked the tread depth recently (around 17k) and still plenty of life left.

#54 ·
Like everyone else is saying put the tires on craigslist and just try and make a buck off of them. You might want $300, but take $100 just to get them out of your house!

On a side not I have noticed the Duelers do easily hydroplane, and its not something I was expecting out of new tires. I want to get BF's, but can see justifying not using decent tires, especially since I am commuting a lot at he present time.

#4 ·
Put them on Craigslist for what you think they are worth. I'm sure someone will call and offer you something.

#7 ·
Buy new tires from Discount Tires and get a trade in value for them. I just did on my original tires with 4,000 miles on them. I also did it last year with my 2015 Forester, those tires only had 35 miles on them. I just put continental cross contact lx20 eco tires on my Outback,,,,,and love them.

#12 ·
It's Discount Tire that isn't offering a trade in. I'd love to be able to give them to a deserving individual for whom they'd make a real difference.