Subaru Outback Forums banner

2016 Subaru steering column recall post-repair issues/problems

16K views 58 replies 26 participants last post by  2016OutbackNJ 
#1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to Subaru and just bought my first vehicle from the brand (2016 Outback Premium) and took delivery at the end of March.

Unfortunately, I was part of the steering column recall and my vehicle was finished and repaired in under a week, which is the good news.

When I picked up it, I noticed the issue that other people reported regarding the steering wheel not being aligned properly. After picking the vehicle up on Saturday and driving for about 15 minutes to confirm, I called the dealership about this and they informed me to bring the vehicle back and they'll fix this the same day. I drove it back and a half hour later they called my name to let me know the issue was fixed and they apologized. After driving the car that evening, the issue does appear to be resolved, but now I see some small scratches on the plastic piece right behind the steering wheel, which is a little annoying, but I can live with that. The scratches weren't there upon picking up my vehicle the first time. So it was on the re-do repair that it happened.

Now driving the vehicle Saturday evening with my girlfriend, I noticed that the instrument panel lights turned off for a brief second and then back on again, but it didn't seem to affect my satellite radio, as that seemed to play music with no interruption during this brief second. It was night so I had my headlights on as well, but I didn't see them turn off and back on again, it just seemed to be my instrument panel with the gauges. It all went entirely dark and then back on. It happened only once during my couple of hours of driving Saturday night. This never occurred before the recall work (over one month of driving and approximately 1400 miles).