What is the difference between Outback and Legacy Wagon? - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-25-2004, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Recruit

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default What is the difference between Outback and Legacy Wagon?

I'm newbie here. I appologize if this has been brought up in the past, I attempted to search but couldn't find a good answer.

I'm looking at a used reliable utility/winter vehicle for around 9-10k. The 2000 Outback/Legacy Wagon came up. Now, what is the difference between these vehicles?

I'm strictly speaking of the 2000-2003 models. They are visually the same, prices of the Legacy wagon are slightly cheaper.

What are the differences?

thanks
cdnyce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-25-2004, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Flying Cavalry

Car: Obsidian Black 2005 Outback 2.5XT 5 Speed Wagon & Brilliant Silver 2005 Legacy 2.5GT Wagon 5MT

Historically, the Outback started as an option package for the Legacy Wagon. Not much more than some different wheels and trim, special stickers and two tone paint. That was 1995.

After the huge response to the Outback, it beacame it's own model, known as the Legacy Outback. It was given a stiffer suspension with more ground clearence. It also lost it's (more reliable) 2.2L 4 cylinder for the 2.5L version. The Legacy Outback continues on until MY2000.