My next question: Swaying on a metal bridge. - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-01-2011, 08:10 PM Thread Starter

Car: '08 OB automatic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My next question: Swaying on a metal bridge.

What makes one car sway left/right while driving over a metal, open-grate bridge while another car takes it as straight as on a solid road?

I have always wondered this.

Hubby's Impreza wobbles terribly across one of those bridges while my Outback does not. ( I also remember that my '68 Pontiac LeMans did the same swaying action. Very disturbing back when I was a brand new driver)

'08 OUTBACK, AT

(also, '09 Outback Premium, AT)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-01-2011, 08:53 PM

Try riding a motorcycle across one.
I reckon the grate traps the tires back and forth in the grooves which creates the swerving feeling. Different tires and different suspension geometry makes some cars do the swerve dance differently.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-01-2011, 09:11 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Brucey
Having ridden a motorcycle across several similar styled bridges, I think it has more to do with tire width than anything, with the tire getting caught in between spikes and wanting to jerk side/side.
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-02-2011, 03:30 PM

Car: 07 OBW 2.5i D-4AT
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
My next question: Swaying on a metal bridge.
I'm still "stabilizing" from the previous question . . .

This is another interesting one. I don't recall seeing any objective testing/reports about this, but I agree with the Brucey and upflying.