Replacing Battery and Memory Keeper - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 01:16 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2010 Suburu Outback PZEV
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Replacing Battery and Memory Keeper

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum and I was hoping you can me help with my questions.

As per my profile I owned a 2010 Outback 2.5L (PZEV- Partially Zero Emission Vehicule).

My apology in advance if this question was asked and answered, but I didn't find it per my searches.

I want to replace the original 6 yo battery after 110K. I'm now getting a 10.25 volts reading (cold) and it still started this morning even in the cooler weather. I cannot leave anything on (by mistake) as up to now I got caught twice and needing a jump start.

I'm worried that when I replace the battery, that I may have problems with various things that needs resetting and that the car won't start anymore....

I did find a PDF file for "Actions to take after removing battery or disconnecting ground terminal" it was for a 2015. Also to mention that my Owner's Manual does mentioned anything about a Battery Replacement.

Q1: Not sure the PDF applies to my car, but as I mentioned before is there anything else that can happen for the car not to start anymore ??

Q2: I was thinking of buying a Memory Keeper that you insert the 12V Cigarette Lighter outlet but the 12V outlet requires the Ignition Switch to be in either the "ACC" or "ON" position.

As I still have an above 12 Volt charge in the battery can I remove/disconnect the car battery while the Ignition Switch is on "ACC" or "ON" ?? Isn't it dangerous ??

Any help would be greatly appreciate, thank you...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

I forgot to mentioned that I have a third party Remote Starter with Alarm. Thanks.

post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 06:03 PM