Building inspection pit in the garage - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-15-2012, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Building inspection pit in the garage

Hello folks,
I'm brand new to these Subaru Outback forums, so please excuse me if I initiated this thread in the wrong place.

I'm considering building inspection / maintenance pit in my existing garage.
It has 6" concrete floor through which I intend to cut with the circular saw for masonry.
Could somebody please share his thoughts, ideas or precautions on how to build the inspection pit safely and in the most inexpensive way. Surprisingly, I could not find any information on pre-formed fiber glass pit liners in the US which would make my task much easier.

Thank you in advance for any thought or advices.
Hunny Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-15-2012, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

Sounds like a stupid idea when all you need is a floor lift ie rack which simply slides in to the garage bolts down and will lift your car. Far cheaper and you don't need to explain to a home buyer why there is a huge hole in the garage floor LOL.

Super nice nice lifts can be found for $4000 - no way you can do a proper permitted pit in a non commercial home garage for that price.
subiesailor is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2012, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Car: 08 Outback Touring Blue/Grey w:Alpine stereo,corrosion management,front/rear swaybars/endlinks(Whiteline), King Springs, KYB struts,LWT crank pulley,K&N air filter

Check your local building codes.
In Canada now, at least in BC, pits are not allowed because of gas build-up.
ported is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2012, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)