how long to replace ignition coil and wires? - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 12:00 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2009 Outback, 2.5L, 5 speed manual
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how long to replace ignition coil and wires?

Hello...my local Subaru dealership is quoting me over $200 in labour to repalce an ignition coil and wires. I'm not a mechanic but I understand that you remove the spark plug wires, remove the ignition coil (a couple of bolts) and do the reverse to install the new coil and cables. In my opinion, that should only take about a 1/2 hour. Thoughts/comments?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 12:33 PM

Car: 01 Outback H6 VDC, 97 GT wgn w/ ej22, 98 OBW w/ej22
we don't call them stealerships for nothing.

even if the book time is an hour, $200 sounds high. do it your self.

what car, engine, trans, year miles?

post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 12:39 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2009 Outback, 2.5L, 5 speed manual
Hi..thanks for the reply.

2009 Outback wagon, 2.5L gas, 5 speed manual, 34,000 miles

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 06:04 PM

Car: 07 OBW 2.5i D-4AT
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
It's an easy DIY job. Just a bit tricky to remove the three bolts holding the coil on the back of the intake manifold (because of the angle/access), but quite doable. I did it on my 07. I took my time but surely, for an experienced mechanic, not more than one hour.

I doubt they're charging $200/hour, so it must be the time. What are saying? I can't imagine the book time being more than an hour. Is that all they're doing? Not the spark plugs?

Might I ask why the coil and wires have to be replaced at 34,000 miles?
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 06:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by plain OM View Post

Might I ask why the coil and wires have to be replaced at 34,000 miles?