Engine Pulleys - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

SubaruOutback.org is the premier Subaru Outback Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-20-2010, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Engine Pulleys

Our 2004 LL Bean with the V-6 has 53,000 miles on it. So far we have had a drive axle replaced, the sunroof won't work and we won't get it fixed for $1,600.00, the AC stopped working and they said it was not covered under extended warranty because the hoses cracked and caused all of the damage and since the hoses aren't covered under warranty, blah, blah, blah.

Now we are told the other CV boot is cracked ($250.00), and that the pulleys are going bad. I was told by two dealerships that this is a somewhat common problem on the V-6 because it has so much torque that the pulleys go bad.

I have 25 years experience working on cars, mostly fords and Nissans. We bought the subaru because of their reputation for reliability, now my wife is afraid to drive our two little kids around in it.

Are these common problems for an outback with 53,000 miles? I have driven in ones with over 200,000 that have had just the basic maintenance. We do all of our service through Subaru, my wife drives normally since she is usually driving with the kids, and half of the mileage is highway.

The only reason we have not traded it for something else is because it is paid off. I am I going to run into more of this?

Sorry, just stunned and frustrated that we have had so many problems in such a low mileage vehicle.
JDenver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-20-2010, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

Car: 01 Outback LL Bean

What kind of climate do you live in?