Subaru Outback Forums banner

2012 Outback 3.6R 60,000 Mile Service - DIY

6K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  mjohnson 
#1 ·
Hi all,

This is my first post here and wanted to share the results of my DIY 60,000 mile service on my '12 Outback 3.6R.

Like many of you, I experienced some serious sticker shock at the cost of the 60K service. My indy mechanic was ~$150 less than the dealer but still quite expensive so I chose to do what I could myself. Let me begin by saying that I am a white collar worker with some mechanical ability but well short of what a trained tech has. What skills I have are self taught through trial and error.

My indy mechanic listed the spark plug change @ 2.4 hrs and $264.00 in labor so that was my main reason for trying to change the spark plugs myself. I had the day off yesterday and so I set off to swap the spark plugs myself. I watched all the DIY videos youtube had to offer and noticed on thing, the only "professional" that made a video changed the plugs from under the car. I have a set of drive up ramps that lift the car about a foot so I decided to do the work from underneath the car.

Start to finish the project took me ~4.5 hrs to complete. My back is really glad I did this while laying on the garage floor vs. leaning over the engine. My rump is not so sure laying on the concrete garage floor was such a good idea.

1) Removing the under carriage plastic. Easy. Bought a fastener removal tool on Amazon and it helped. Main fasteners: pry center piece out about 1/4" then the entire fastener comes out. Phillips head fasteners, turn 1/4-1/2 rotation with screw driver then pull out entire fastener. Two metal fasteners simply unscrew and are removed. Drop the guard and set it aside.