Engine Misfiring - 2000 Outback 2.5L - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-13-2016, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
GAM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Engine Misfiring - 2000 Outback 2.5L

Hi All,

First post here, hoping someone might be able to assist here before I blow more money chasing this problem.

Subaru Outback 2.5L 4 Cyl. It started idling rough and loses power under acceleration. I have been chasing it for a couple of months now and driving it feels like if might just blow up one day...LOL Seriously through is sounds like it is running on 3 cylinders.

Here is my testing and replacing so far (with zero change to the fault) in the order it was done :
- Coil checked for spark on all 4 cylinder - OK
- All Ignition leads fully replaced with new Bosch leads
- Noticed Oil on the Spark plug tubes. Figured it may be creating some arcing
- Replaced all the valve cover gaskets on both sides
- Replaced all 4 spark plugs

Still no joy so took it to a Mechanic. After 2 days they:
- Reconditioned all Fuel injectors
- Checked for pulse on injectors
- Ran a compression test and said it tested fine

They are at a loss and now say I need a new motor. Said it could be a "Burnt Valve" but whatever that is, wouldn't a compression test show this up?

The motor has 212,000Km. The head was fully reconditioned at 156K and all gaskets, belts have been done at that time.

In the past 10,000km, I thought the fuel usage was high so I had a code scan on the engine. It was saying Cam Shaft Position Sensor and Knock Sensor needed replacing so I have done these recently.

SO.... no change whatsoever. Mechanic still says it might be the head which I don't understand if the compression test was ok.

I asked about O2 sensor and he is adamant that this would not create this fault.