DIY: 2005 Outback Cabin Air Filter Replacement - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-06-2009, 02:31 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2005 outback
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DIY: 2005 Outback Cabin Air Filter Replacement

So after reading the 2002 Cabin Air Filter replacement guide, I decided to do mine. However, mine was not easy as I thought it was going to be and ended up having to take apart the center console and right trim, trim panels to access the left side phillips screws that hold the left side of the glove box on.

I had also bought an air filter from NAPA but it did not show which way the air was supposed to flow through it, therefore I did what Hurt did and purchased a filter from Lowes that had maximum flow but also focused on allergens.

To make this easy follow these steps and ref the pics and I hope you can see them. This is my first attempt at posting.

1. The book (yep I bought a 72 hr subscription from Subaru techinfo) says in order to remove the glove box you need to disassemble the center console. I started out by taking the glove box insert out and removing the screws in the front and side screws and then pulling on it enough to allow me to slide out the filter tray. I then felt as if I might crack some plastic so into the manual.

Remove the shifter panel that holds the shifter boot. I removed the ash tray insert out. I then pried up on the back edge of the shifter console straight up very gently. Once the is up you can then pull down on the front edge and the hooks will free them selves. (ref pics ACC 18-21).

I then pulled off the cigarette lighter connector plug and then spun the console 90 degrees and pulled up over shifter to give me free space. This will expose the screws and hooks on the right garnish trim.