Trying to save 01 Outback - Engine and Tranny Swap - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By MikeC5

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 04:59 PM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Trying to save 01 Outback - Engine and Tranny Swap

Hello, I'm really jumping in head first here, this is my first post so please bare with me.

I have been researching for about 2 months on this and I have had multiple shops give me conflicting information, I myself have found conflicting information online, so of course, I turn to the forums (and for the record, I have scoured the forums in search of these answers already). All I am hoping for is some sort of a consensus, not looking for perfection. Ideally someone has done this before (fingers crossed).

I have a 2001 Outback that blew a motor and transmission due to a botched head gasket job and botched transmission rebuild. You definitely get what you pay for (I had a private guy do it, friend of a friend kinda deal due to my financial situation at the time). The rest of the car is in fantastic condition and I would love to save it.

I also have a 2008 Forester X that I bought stupid cheap (to drive on an emergency basis after I lost the 01). Basically, that car is a metal deathtrap due to rust, however, the engine and transmission seems to be in perfectly fine condition.

Now that I can afford to properly address them, I want to know if it is possible to swap the 2008 Forester engine and transmission into the 2001 Outback.

The placard inside the engine bay for the Forester is missing, but this is what I know for both cars.

2001 Outback Engine: EJ251AXAWL
2001 Outback Transmission: TZ1A4ZCCBA
2001 Outback VIN# 4S3BH686X17638942

2008 Forester Engine: EJ25
2008 Forester Transmission: M000T20171
2008 Forester VIN# JF1SG63618H732695

Thanks all for the help, I've hit roadblock after roadblock trying to figure this out and this is basically my last move.