Outback head gasket & rocker replacement cost - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Brad99

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 04:20 AM Thread Starter

Car: '08 Gen 3 Outback 2.5i
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy Outback head gasket & rocker replacement cost

I'm a newbie poster, but a long-time reader - so I should start by saying I appreciate all the sharing of knowledge on these forums.

My '08 Outback 2.5 went in for it's 150kms service yesterday, and came out a few hours later with a report stating that the service could not be competed because the head gasket and rocker covers are leaking oil badly. I saw photos of the oil leaks in multiple places, including onto what I believe was the power steering unit. No signs of coolant leaks at the service or overheating within the time I've owned the car.

I've been quoted $4.9k for a head gasket replacement and $460 for the rocker covers, 7-10 days needed in the shop. Assuming all else is well with the car, I'm happy to carry out the repair to keep this car running happily.

I should note that this service and quote for the new work was done at the local Subi Dealer and I've only owned the car for about a year, so this is the first full service done under my watch. An earlier RACV check 12 months ago noted minor engine wetness, but nothing as bad as a leaking gasket. I'm located in Melbourne, Aus.

The questions on my mind are:
1) Am I crazy for considering paying $5k for this work, assuming it requires the engine to come out and it's being done at a Subi dealer? (which would be my preferred option)

2) Is there any foreseen risk of me holding off on this work to monitor it, given there hasn't been any signs of coolant leaks or overheating?