05 Outback Fuel Tank Venting Issue - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 05-14-2019, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2005 Subaru Outback 2.5i A/T
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
05 Outback Fuel Tank Venting Issue

The Car: 2005 Subaru Outback 2.5i base A/T. 100% Arizona car, zero rust or corrosion on anything, 182,000 miles. This car is my unicorn, I’d drive it to the moon and back tomorrow.

Me: I have built many engines in my day, very competent with modern vehicles and have always done the work myself except for tire swaps and alignments. I am not a beginner and generally do not have issues I can’t figure out, however the issue below is STUMPING me so far.

The Issue: About 1.5 years ago, my fuel tank stopped venting at the gas station while pumping and I could only pump roughly .5 gallon at a time as pressure built up. The issue went away for 1 week and returned to its current state for the past 1 year. Over the past year, the issue has been the same, extremely consistent. Pump in .5 gallon, wait about 5 seconds to hear the pressure equalize through the filler neck, and repeat.

The Observations:
  1. No CEL’s
  2. No pressure/vacuum when unscrewing gas cap in any scenario
  3. No change at dozens of pumps at dozens of gas stations
The Teardown: I decided to finally rip this thing apart so I printed all the fuel tank diagrams and started from the end of the system, the vent to atmosphere.
  1. I took every hose from the vent to atmosphere back through the charcoal canister and to the vent nipple on the top rear of the driver side of the tank and blew through them, including the canister. Zero obstructions, completely free flowing.