Blown front speakers, need replacements - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2017, 06:55 PM Thread Starter

Car: 2004 Legacy Outback 3.0L 6 Cyl VDC AWD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Blown front speakers, need replacements

This is the oddest. I put my car in for body shop work and it came back looking new! but my front door woofers are blown. Being a musician I know sound and would have known if my speakers were blown when I took it in. ALTHOUGH... I like to fade my speakers to the rear because I can blast louder without front speaker ear fatigue. Plus my subie has a killer Marantz system with sub woofer. My car looks like a soccer mom car (metallic green hand me down from my folks), so I can't figure out why Subaru put such a sweet system in a car that probably only a metal head like me would appreciate.

Anyway, the point is my front speakers got little air time and thus I don't know how they blew and how they blew in the shop. They definitely didn't blow before hand. I thought perhaps the shop didn't install the door panels right but they claim they didn't remove them. I can't prove squat so I have to eat it and replace them. But what's in there? I don't need killer speakers since I fade to the rear, but I do want decent ones.

Anyone know what's in the doors? 4"? 5.25"? 6.5"?

Any theories would be appreciated. Thanks.
DocSubie

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2017, 07:40 PM
Super Moderator

Car: 2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
Which horseless carriage we talking about here?

Have you considered the Google search bar at the top of the forum?

2002 Outback wagon 3.0 L.L. Bean no more: "Mal" 134,000 and counting.
Cloth interior swap. HIR1 high beam upgrade. Yellow Lamin-X fog light film.

2006 Outback 2.5i wagon: "Professor Sprout" 96,000 and counting.
HIR1 high beam upgrade.

Rust in Peace:
"Solstice" 1996 Outback wagon, totaled at 115K.