Fuse #12 keeps blowing.... - Subaru Outback - Subaru Outback Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 09:51 AM Thread Starter

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuse #12 keeps blowing....

Hi everyone, I am new to the Subaru community.
I bought a 2011 outback it has been great but...
It has left us stranded on the side of the road 3 times in the past year. Fuse # 12 blows while driving...car dies and will not restart, replace fuse #12 turn the key, pop just keep blowing fuses, starter doesn't activate, no fuel pump noise. (fuse #12 is integrated unit and automatic transmission). symptoms seem to point to a dead short but my local mechanics are unable to find anything....Question is, can anyone tell me what is tied to Fuse #12, ideas where I should look. I don't know where to begin with tracing or tracking wires sensors etc. All dealers are swamped for a month dealing with recalls. We have parked it.
thanks in advance,

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 01:15 PM

Car: 07 OBW 2.5i D-4AT
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
The FSM shows fuse #12, 15 Amps, in the cabin fuse panel powers:

A/C Control Module
Body integrated unit
Light control sensor
Transmission Control Module
Engine Control Module
Fuel pump relay
Ignition coil No. 1 (turbo model)
Ignition coil No. 2 (turbo model)
Ignition coil No. 3 (turbo model)
Ignition coil No. 4 (turbo model)

If the fuse blows as soon as the ignition is turned on, then it does sound like a dead short, but, from your post, it also seems to be intermittent. It could be a worn wire that's just touching a ground point.

Perhaps get a factory service manual. They are available from SOA at https://techinfo.subaru.com/stis/#/login. $34.95 (U.S.) provides 72 hours of access to the full list of documentation available, including FSMs, Reference Booklets, TSBs, etc. All can be downloaded in pdf file format and saved for use.