Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I got rear ended and I am trying to replace my trunk and pssgr. quarter panel myself but I havent been able to find any walkthroughs on how to do it. I am trying to save money as the person that hit me took off and I dont want to spend extra money for a guy replacing everything. Just rebuild the motor in November so I am PISSED this has happened.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Unless you can use a welder, you are not going to replace that 1/4 panel. The 1/4 panel is one of the toughest panels to replace. Notice the crinkle above the wheel well? Most likely, you have some frame damage there underneath. I would not attempt to replace a quarter panel and I've been working on cars for close to 50 years.

I'd try pulling it out rather than replacing it. You might have to have the frame straightened, too.

Good luck and it is NOT going to be cheap or easy. If you have collision and a fairly low deductible, you may want to consider that.

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,372 Posts
What OldSVTGuy said.

I expect a bend in the unibody looking at that picture. This isn't a simple "replace the panels" repair.

·
Registered
2002 Outback Wagon 2.5L Auto Weather Package
1,969 Posts
What hit you? Very little if any contact to your bumper and plenty to the hatch, so I'm gonna guess a truck, maybe a lifted one. Ought to have some damage to them too.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah just realized that to. Anyone have a ballpark price for me?

Well The cops said a guard rail did that to me...but that doesn't look like a guard rail...

·
Registered
2017 OutBack Premier, 2019 Forester Ltd, 2016 370z Rdstr
724 Posts
mylucksucks,