Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone, and Thank You ahead of time for all your help. Also I apologize if this thread/post is in the wrong area. It is my first time here.

First of all, let's get this out of the way. I have:

2005 Subaru Outback, 2.5L 4cy Non-Turbo AWD, i-Wagon Outback
H4 EJ253 SOHC Automatic
U5 (Not U6) Catalytic/Exhaust System
---->It has the Barn (Single port/3 Bolt holes gasket, not Cat Face (Dual Port, 3 Bolt Holes Gasket) Exhaust Manifold Gaskets Set-up

VIN --- 4s4 bp61cx 57306049

Hopefully this is plenty of information to go on. :D

A bit of history:

Just recently, within the last 4 months, I had to fix a head gasket leak in both my heads. The infamous one at 120k-ish miles. So a friend of mine, who is a mechanic, and I, working together, fixed up my car. Took about 2 months due to both of use having second jobs and having to wait for parts to show up. For the record, I am not mechanic, but I do work in Auto Parts Stores and have a decent amount knowledge, doing the majority of my own car repairs. However, I am shy of five feet and not weighing much soaking wet and do require help on bigger repairs or things requiring a lift. Hence, my mechanic friend with this five bay shop and if he dies before me, I am raiding said shop!!!