Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been driving Subaru's for 19 years. On #4(2005 Outback L.L.Bean) but still own #3(96 Legacy wagon?) I will not get rid of the 96 because the 05 is a POS! I have never had so many issues with a car! Current main issue is over heating. I have replaced the thermo 3 times and can't imagine this one being a dud too. Loosing coolant into overflow, thermo hose not getting hot so I know its not opening, but then it will. Then all of a sudden no heat and it starts to overheat. So is it the heater core going bad, and another dud thermo? I love working on my own car, but this is getting ridiculous! I love to travel and this is putting the kibosh on some plans. Please help. Thank you.

·
Registered
2005 Outback 3.0R H6 VDC
278 Posts
I have been driving Subaru's for 19 years. On #4(2005 Outback L.L.Bean) but still own #3(96 Legacy wagon?) I will not get rid of the 96 because the 05 is a POS! I have never had so many issues with a car! Current main issue is over heating. I have replaced the thermo 3 times and can't imagine this one being a dud too. Loosing coolant into overflow, thermo hose not getting hot so I know its not opening, but then it will. Then all of a sudden no heat and it starts to overheat. So is it the heater core going bad, and another dud thermo? I love working on my own car, but this is getting ridiculous! I love to travel and this is putting the kibosh on some plans. Please help. Thank you.
Have you had it looked at? Maybe give this thread a read, and see if it sheds any light on your issue. My '05 H6 has been the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. Good luck, and keep us posted.

http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums...0-05-h6-overheating-only-when-not-moving.html

·
Premium Member
2010 Legacy 3.6R Limited
1,300 Posts