Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this style of forums, but I am determined that others are the best way to resolve my problems with my new Subaru.
Here is the backstory: Bought a 2005 Subaru legacy Limited 2.5gt wagon Tuesday, 11/12/19, I test drove it, felt smooth, fast, very clean car no lights or issues. Not knowing the last time oil or maintenance was done on the vehicle, I took it to my local imports shop, who specializes in foreign model cars. I had them do medium service described by them as:
  • Adjust Idle Mixture
  • Inspect & Adjust Drive Belts
  • Replace Engine Oil & Filter
  • Inspect Air Cleaner Element
  • Inspect Throttle Body
  • Inspect & Adjust Timing
  • Inspect Ignition Wires
  • Adjust Rear Brakes
  • Adjust Parking Brake
  • Inspect Front Brake Pads
  • Inspect Rear Brake Pads
  • Inspect & Adjust Clutch Free Play
  • Inspect Exhaust System
  • Inspect Power Steering System
  • Inspect Suspension System
  • Inspect & Adjust Tire Pressure
  • Change Transmission Fluid
  • Rotate & Balance Tires
  • Lubricate Door Hinges, Locks & Latches
  • Road Test
So whatever, awesome, they made notes about possible timing belt change, and some other things that I would have to pay more to fix, change.
So drive home, no problem. Untillllll the next day Saturday morning 11/16/19 I am driving 35 miles to a farm I work on. Country roads, I planned on testing speed, enjoying the drive. I'm going 60ish and finally figure out how to turn on cruise control. Flick it on, then off just to test it. few minutes later.....
BAMMMMM
CEL light is glowing like a christmas tree, and that cruise light is flashing. A depressing 80 miles into owning this vehicle. I do some research and it seems it can be a light fix or a big expensive lemon.