Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm a newbie to Subaru and this forum.
Just got a silver OBS SE. Got a good deal $19129 "drive out"(including TT&L). The dealer asked if I wanted the security upgrade kit? Does this mean that the stock has no security whatsoever? Or does the upgrade mean anti-theft? I'm a li'l confused here..Thanks in advance for ur responses....

·
Registered
195 Posts
I was confused about a decal on my driver window called Theft Avert. With some help from people here I narrowed it down to being about a thing added to the glass that is only visible in ultraviolet light, supposedly info to trace the car.

I knew from the original invoice that it didn't have the optional security upgrade in the list. The word "security" is in the dash, just never lit. But my '04 was bought after having been out for sale a long time and so at first I thought that decal meant it had been dealer installed at some point.

Your price seems good for an '05, got mine at $16800 including the trade-in of a '94 Sonoma. 228 miles on the odometer as I drove it away.

Anyway... security upgrade is the motion sensing alarm system, otherwise all you have is the keyless entry with panic button. I even checked a wire connector under the driverdoor threshold panel to see if it was connected or not, as per the owners manual it says the dealership might put it into passive alarm mode that way. If you read your manual it'll probably say the same.

Seems to me that Theft Avert might not be used on all the Subaru's either, and somehow I just ended up with it on mine. I don't recall others here saying they had it.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Right. If you didn't get the "security upgrade", which mine doesn't have either, then there's no security on the vehicle. I don't have any use for audible security systems but I wish the car had an immobilizer.

·
Registered
1 Posts