Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
Im new to the outback, just got my new love, and was wondering your guys advice on performance mods that you think are worth it.
I have just the straight 2.5 h4 engine.
The only things I've done to my outback are tint all the windows and add a sound system. now I'm wondering what else there is to do.
Has anyone lowered their outbacks? I want to lower it, it just looks too high. but i dont want to slam it. Any advice?
Also any advice on performance parts for the 2.5 engine?
Im new to modding and all this stuff, so thanks for the patience and advice!
Cheers!

·
Registered
70 Posts
Yeah, I'm kinda in the same boat as you...
You sound younger than the average person on this website. I'm probably younger than the average person here, too. It's interesting to see how these used Gen 3 outbacks are going to look in the hands of people who have not been known, traditionally, to own this vehicle.

If you look at the Gen 2 outbacks, you'll get a pretty good idea for mods. I myself actually like the ground clearance, but I threw on some ASA wheels to make the car stand out. Wheel size on the ASA's is exactly the same as the 06-09's... 225/55r17. I did this because I live in Boston where the potholes are a plenty, but I would have considered putting on a set of 18" concave wheels from Rota. Price is good, and the wheels look like they're made well for the price.

Back on the subject of suspension, I think you'd like a set of Legacy GT springs. They should bolt right in... search and you'll find whether you need to swap out the struts and top hats, too.