Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bought an '05 Outback with a Salvage Title in California, requiring a Break and Light Inspection. There is a very very tiny crack in the outer red reflector part of the light and it won't pass inspection, do I have to replace the entire tail light assembly (Item 1 in the link below), or can I just purchase the lens (Item 5)? Can I assume this is pretty easy to put together?

Also, this is the passenger side, should I assume that means RIGHT side here?

2005 SUBARU OUTBACK Parts -

THANKS! I'm a total Subaru newbie, but excited to learn a lot more.

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
That 'lens only' is what most of us call the taillight assembly. The 'assembly' they are talking about on that page is a complete, plug and play setup. You can buy just the 'lens' and transfer your current bulb, wiring, and the like from your old one. You aren't just replacing the colored plastic outer portion, if that's what you were thinking.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
THANKS! That is what I was afraid of, I assumed maybe I could just buy that red part for cheaper, but, of course not, that would mean less cash!

One more quick question, it's only about a $20 difference for lens vs. the plug-n-play assembly, is switching the wiring out going to be difficult enough that I should just get the whole thing?

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,973 Posts