Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Long time lurker needs a little bit of help.
Just recently my subi started losing power when driving uphill. Fuel pump change didn't do anything and after few weeks car started having issues all the time and gives no CEL. At this point It's pretty much undriveable. I can't get it past 80km/h. It acts fairly normal when idling but when the speed picks up it starts bogging and choking. In last few days I replaced spark plugs, wires, coil pack, air filter, cleaned MAF, cleaned throttle body, new cat. I tried testing AF sensor and it seems to be fine, however I am not an expert.
Yesterday, I was playing around with it in the shop and it would rev up normally to about 2500 RPM. Past 3K Rpms started going up and down roughly 200 rpms.
Any ideas what could be the problem?
Car has 240k kms, changed hg, timing and clutch 35k ago.

·
Premium Member
(formerly) 03 H6 OBW , (presently) 06 WRX Sportwagon & 2021 Honda CR-V
18,754 Posts
almost like 'limp' mode????

could be knock sensor.

06 would be early drive by wire and the accelerator pedals have been a weak spot - usually get a code though....?

exhaust blockage can do this...vacuum gauge testing could show that.

live data may be helpful, if you have a smartphone, check into an ELM327 BT adapter and an app like Torque.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It used be like a limp mode but now it seems like fuel/ air ratio is way off. When I was idling it at 3500 rpms after a minute or so coolant temperature started raising. Running lean?
Also, my fuel mileage went down in last 2 months by 3l/100 or even more.
I have never wanted a check engine light to pop up!
What would I look for when I hook it up to diagnostic tool?

·
Registered
19,508 Posts
Some added info might be helpful . . .

Hey guys. Long time lurker needs a little bit of help.
Welcome. Where are you located? (North America, Asia, Europe?)