Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Subaru Legacy Outback Limited
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1997 Legacy Outback Limited 210k miles in Hospice with Heavy Misfire

So i believe this is my first post on subaruoutback.org. I usually lurk on NASIOC just for the entertainment. Now, I am posting becuause i am getting more and more desperate. This will be a wall of words so i apologize in advance but with this kind of thing, the more info the better.

Here she is now:

My grandfather bought the car new in 1996 for my grandmother before she passed away. He had it taken care of by Subaru exclusively. When i graduated high school back in 2009, i purchased the car from him with 148k on it. I absolutely loved this car. It never left me stranded, never got me stuck, never gave me any major problems. While i was in college, i drove about 100 mi a day. She currently sits just under 210k miles.

Her performance has been slowly degrading and while I know she is getting old, it was a little too much for me. At 203k the second timing belt was done by Turn in Concepts. They replaced:
-Timing belt
-water pump
-tensioners
-cam seals

About a week after the job was done, she started to get a major oil leak, like a basketball sized puddle after sitting overnight. I took it back to TIC and they told me that the oil pump was leaking. They wanted $500 to change it. After giving them all my money for the timing belt, i decided to do it myself. When i got everything down to the pump, the crank seal was definitely leaking. I replaced the pump, sealed it with some high quality RTV and replaced the crank seal. When i put the timing belt back on, I took my time to make sure that the belt was on correctly and tried to count the teeth but it was very difficult.

While i had the engine torn down i did a tune up and replaced the following:
-plugs
-wires
-PCV
-air filter
-fuel filter
-drive belts
-changed ATF and front and rear diiff fluid
-cleaned the MAF