Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the fourm but this isnt my first subby i had a 97 outback before this 98 and i have come across the same problem with both and was hoping maybe one of you who have been around them for a while can help me. The 97 i ended up buyong used struts for the rear but this 98 is in way better condition and id like to use new parts. So do any of you know where i can get a set of pre built struts for front and rear. I figure if im doing it right mine as well do all at the same time. I dont like the idea of having to put the struts together and i am having a hard time finding the springs as mine are broken i cant use the ones i have. The backs clang and rattle alot and the front seam good but they bounce a lot and the springs look like crap with the covers cracking and pealing on them. So can any of you maybe point me in a good direction to get them?

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,382 Posts
No one makes a prebuilt kit worth putting on a Subaru you happen to like.

KYB is the OEM supplier and who I recommend. Monroe if you ABSOLUTELY must.

Springs are pretty sturdy if not abused, I'd be fine with a used set from a junkyard presuming they appear in decent shape.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
27,165 Posts
No one makes a prebuilt kit worth putting on a Subaru you happen to like.

KYB is the OEM supplier and who I recommend. Monroe if you ABSOLUTELY must.

Springs are pretty sturdy if not abused, I'd be fine with a used set from a junkyard presuming they appear in decent shape.
another daily quest for preassembled things that don't exist.

like we need a sticky here on the "new people look here pages"

= "no regular subaru has pre-assmbled quick struts,...