Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2006 OB 2.5i Limited
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to Subaru's & AWD cars. I pick up a '06 2.5i Limited last year and love it. I had a little accident over tightening a new oil pressure sensor and cracked the head this summer. Long story short, I've replaced/rebuilt some used heads and changed every seal I could think of while I had the engine out including clutch/flywheel (first time pulling out any motor; very fun build on a boxer).

Anywho, I still can't pinpoint why I'm still having this issues with the 1st gear even before I've changed clutch and flywheel. Every manual vehicle I've owned (mainly FWD cars) would want to move slightly forward on a flat surface if the clutch is slowly release to the grabbing point without the gas pedal making it easy to drive smoothly when balancing with gas pedal. With this car its a very short in 1st gear at the grabbing point and it will shutter like it wants to stall. I would have to ride the clutch more on 1st gear for a smoother ride. Every other gear shift fine. Is this normal for Subaru's because of the AWD and being a heavier car I'm assuming its more load trying to move all 4 wheels as opposed to 1 or 2 wheels like FWD cars.

P.S. This issue was the same before I changed the clutch/flywheel. Next would be the Clutch Master/Slave which is not leaking btw but I just want a more easier drive in the city or stop and go traffic without riding the clutch so much.

·
Registered
2006 OB 2.5i Limited
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
SOLVED!

I guess my 100k miles motor/transmission mounts were weak and couldn't hold all the torque no longer. So I've replaced the motor, dogbone & transmission mounts to all Group N's, along with the shifter & sub frame bushings. She rides a lot more solid and shifts even smoother than before. No more shuttering as everything firmed up, thanks.

·
Registered
2006 OB 2.5i Limited
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·