Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the world of subarus and am looking for advice from others who know them better than I. I bought a 98 legacy outback from a friend for $200 with 224,000 miles on it. After getting under the hood and doing diagnostics, the timing belt tensioner has failed, and it has leaks from the head gaskets and oil pan gasket. It also needs a new power steering rack and potentially other suspension parts. I have a friend who can help with suspension repairs, but he doesn't feel comfortable with engine work. SO, long story short, is it worth it to pay a shop to do the timing belt and head gaskets( I know it will probably be over $3000), or should I just part this one out and find one that has already had those major repairs done? I really like these early outbacks, and would like one that will last me a while...Thank you for your thoughts and advice.

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx
10,371 Posts
If it has a manual transmission and there's no rust underneath and you want to throw money at it to restore and preserve it as a classic Subaru it could be worth it, but if the purpose of the car is to be an economical daily driver that's a different story.

Reactions: Brucey and Melq

·
Premium Member
2020 Onyx
10,371 Posts
Before you make your final decision, a Gen 3 2005-2009 to me is a car more worth the blood sweat and tears, but there are certainly merits to ancestor worship. I am not as familiar with the 1998 in particular and why it might be a special generation.