Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all
I am quite new to these engine so please bare with me.

I currently have a 2000 Outback 2.5 SOHC with bad oil consumption. I have replaced all the PCV however still no joy.

I have pinned the issue down to stuck/crusty Oil control rings and/or worn piston rings.

Therefore I have got hold of a OEM ring kit and am going to replace them. However I have a few questions regarding end gaps as I do not really understand.

Being OEM rings do I have to check both the rings and the oil control rings? Also with the oil control rings there are the outer solid rings with the zig zag shapped middle of the sandwich. Do all 3 parts of the oil control rings need gap checking or just the two outers of the sandwich?

Also I get that the compression rings are inserted into the cylinder using the piston to get square however where do you measure? The top, middle or bottom of the cylinder wall?

Any help would be much appreciated

·
Registered
2012 Outback - 2005 Outback XT
374 Posts
Hi all
I am quite new to these engine so please bare with me.

I currently have a 2000 Outback 2.5 SOHC with bad oil consumption. I have replaced all the PCV however still no joy.

I have pinned the issue down to stuck/crusty Oil control rings and/or worn piston rings.

Therefore I have got hold of a OEM ring kit and am going to replace them. However I have a few questions regarding end gaps as I do not really understand.

Being OEM rings do I have to check both the rings and the oil control rings? Also with the oil control rings there are the outer solid rings with the zig zag shapped middle of the sandwich. Do all 3 parts of the oil control rings need gap checking or just the two outers of the sandwich?

Also I get that the compression rings are inserted into the cylinder using the piston to get square however where do you measure? The top, middle or bottom of the cylinder wall?