Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all, I'm new here, but not to the industry.. My wife and I are about to buy a 2000 Outback, 91,000 miles, clean VIN check.. ETC. The car is a 2.5 5 speed, light green, cloth interior rust bubbles on right quarter above the wheel, and behind the antenna.. minor dings, dents and whatnot... typical twelve year old cosmetic issues, in my mind. No service history whatsoever, the car was a gift to some folks who found what they really wanted instead. Interior is in nice shape, some checks in the door panels, but overall very clean. The car is advertised at $3500, we've agreed on $3000. I'm a mechanic, although I normally work on vintage sports cars and american land barges. I am familiar with newer systems, and here's what I found in the parking lot of the wawa where we met the guy. The right front tire is worn to the cords on the inside, and the wheel shakes above 65MPH.. many fittings on the car are rusty, but it doesn't look like it lived in the north.. (I've seen those cars... Iv'e walked out from under a lift more than once nervous for my own well being). at 91,000 miles, I think I'm getting a good deal taking into account that it probably needs a timing belt (assuming the 70,000 mile standard applies here as well), it needs four new tires, and at the very least an alignment. The car drives well, and it doesn't throw any red flags in my face, the steering is twitchy, but I'm not used to new cars, the tires are shot, and it needs an alignment, so that's understandable, and the brakes are a bit soft, but they don't pump up, and again.. I'm used to rock hard, unassisted pedals, usually with four wheel drums, so driving anything made during or after the Carter administration is always a bit strange at first...