Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I’ve been having a problem with my 2003 EJ25 5 speed Outback with starting lately. I got the car in November of 2019 with a head gasket problem, I let it sit until February 2020 and started it up to drive into the garage and it had absolutely no power at all and would barely idle.

I went ahead and replaced the head gaskets (I have done 10 or more of these as I’m a self employed mechanic) and it started up first try super easy no CEL no leaks. After running for about 10 minutes I put it in reverse and slowly let the clutch out and it immediately stalled. It took 3-4 more starting attempts and then started up, drive about 1/2 mile, got to a stop light and after I let the clutch out it stalled and wouldn’t start again. Took about 10 start attempts and then it started. I got a CEL for Crank Sensor and Idle Air Control P0336 and P0519. I replaced the crank sensor and it did the exact same thing. No CEL, ran great until I drove for a little bit and let the clutch out and it stalled. It runs fantastic when it is running but it randomly dies when not in motion. I also checked and the new CPS is about 1,900 ohms and the CEL comes and goes.

Any ideas? TLDR: Rebuilt the engine, keeps stalling randomly, replaced CPS and still acts funky. Runs great when it does start. CEL comes and goes.

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
15,900 Posts
It's cable driven throttle, so your idle control motor is mounted behind the throttle plate. Is it working?
Did you plug the knock sensor in?
Are the grounds on the intake clean and tight?
Is the main ground clean and tight?
Did you nick the crank gear when working on the engine? A small nick or a bent tooth will throw the crank sensor signal off. It will be erratic.