Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition Wagon 3.0L H6 Engine
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, new to the forum hear, first subaru i've ever owned, bought the car listed in the subject and the radiator has been epoxied together where it was leaking and i had to have the subaru dealer flush the cooling system twice already, and i had them do the head gasket test because it was running a bit hot, i'm a mechanic , i ordered a genuine subaru radiator and upper and lower hoses for now. Also according to all my research my car runs a 170 degree farenheit thermostat if i am correct according to the factory oe part number. If i am wrong with any information please feel free to correct me!

But i was wondering if there is a more performance oriented two row radiator replacement available instead of the single core radiator that comes standard because eventually i am going to be purchasing a small pop-up trailer or camper that is within the tow ratings, also is the transmission spin-on filter behind the drivers side fog light trim?

Thanks very much,
Peter B

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,965 Posts
ATF spin on filter is behind the drivers side fog light.

the subaru OEM ATF filter is a long life product, do not replace it with a parts store thing which may not work the same. and if there is a none subaru one on there I would ditch it quick.

(such OEM things cost $25 online from subaru dealers on amazon).

_______

I would try towing the pop-up first. before trying to buy parts like bigger radiators, or ATF coolers. the 2003-2004 H6 got slightly more cooling capacity then 2001-02. subarus typically pull light pop ups with no problem, no mods.