Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had the first turbo go at 85K. Had a subaru dealer do the replacement and just had the turbo go again at 125K. Really unhappy with the car. I don't drive it very hard and I can't afford another dealer replacement (about 2250). Is there any way I can get the turbo fixed at a lower cost so I can sell it? It has been a HUGE money pit and I really wish I wouldn't have bought it 5 years ago.

·
Registered
Lawn ornament XT
14,366 Posts
Search this board for info about the BNR turbo replacement.

I have no personal experience with it, but the word is that it's a better unit at a lower price.

XTs are not cheap to keep up with- it's all about making sure you get enough fun per dollar.

·
Registered
2006 Outback XT
28 Posts
ahhh that sucks..I bought my xt when it already had a turbo replaced - but then i hit around 90k mi (i drove it hard) and my turbo broke apart into the engine. had the entire engine replaced, luckily warranty covered it. I heard the 2005s had a lot more problems though. There are some people on here that have experience with turbos so you should get some advice. Good luck

·
Registered
'05 OBXT
453 Posts
You'll see many people on the LGT (car, not sexual orientation) forum selling stock turbos. Some are being sold as cores so you can get a BNR, etc but there are some perfectly good stock ones sold as well.

·
Gallery Ninja, ,
2004 Outback "Bluebaru" & 2005 Outback XT
5,195 Posts
Maybe grab a lower mileage used one from a salvage yard and bolt it on?

·
Registered
Car: 2008 Tribeca, 2010 LGT, Sold: 2005 XT Limited
2,926 Posts
Check out legacygt.com People replace their stock with an upgrade, but they are all starting to get long in the tooth at this point. There are also some rebuilds out there.