Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. Great site! Thanks to all who contribute.

I thought I would share my story of woe in hope that someone may be able to shed light on the cause of my problem.

Car: 2006 Outback XT (turbo)
State of tune: Car is 100% stock
Miles: 66k
Type of miles: Local ( rural / non-highway) miles
Driver: single driver / middle aged mellow.

The short story:

The car started running a rough at low idle. OK on start and higher RPM. Shortly thereafter, it threw the CEL and flashing cruise light.

I did the trip meter / headlight dance to to pull the codes from the dash. Came up with the following:

P0302 - Cyl 2 misfire
P0000 - ?
P2096 - Post Cat fuel trim system too lean bank 1

Since the car was overdue for the 60k tune, I hoped the fix would be simple. Dealer checked plugs, boots, coils, etc. - no luck. Performed a compression test and saw low compression on Cyl 2. Leakdown test pointed to valves.

Took car for second opinion - same result.

Had a local independent pull the heads and they passed them on to a car racing engine shop. I called the shop direct to get the story from the guy working on the heads. Here are some of his comments:

“The valve seats were beat up.” Intake valves were OK but the exhaust valves were beat. Problem is likely heat from the turbo.
“1 valve was the problem child but all exhaust valves were beat to heck!” If we had only fixed the one valve, the car would have been back in the shop soon.
Looks like the exhaust temps are too high. Maybe the fueling is too lean?
You may want to check with a Dealer to see if there have been any updated to fuel mapping. Maybe find tuners that can bump the fueling a point or two. That would probably fix your problem.

OK. Besides making me feel great about my car (which I have babied), he made me consider how this could have happened.
Questions: