Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Subaru Legacy Outback XT 2007 2.5 Turbo
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a new member. I've been searching this forum during the last few months as I slowly work on my Outback.

The tl;dr for this post is "I failed emissions w/ high hydrocarbons what do I do"
Here's the backstory:

For background I am a total amateur garage mechanic, and I only am working on my car because I can't afford a dang pro repair shop. So forums & youtubes have been my reference for the repairs I've done.

I got a P0011 code a few months back.
That is: Camshaft Position A - Timing Over-Advanced or System Performance (Bank 1)

So I looked at what the forums said about this, and did that. I removed the turbo and removed the screen from the banjo bolt.

The turbo's blades did not show any damage signs, there was a very small film of oil on the intake side, and there was a small amount of side to side play in the shaft, but I decided after some deliberation that it was probably not about to imminently fail, so I put it back on.

I suspected that the oil may have gotten a bit old and sludgey, so I drained & replaced the oil and filter, then I drained it a second time, and dropped the oil pan, cleaned it out and cleaned and checked the intake tube / screen. I put on a second oil filter when I refilled the oil the second time.

As I was cleaning out the oil pan, I noticed a small amount of gold colored metal dust in the bottom of the pan. I talked with someone at the dealership and they said it was probably normal wear, and it didn't send up major alarm bells to them, so I put everything back together.

Then I cleared the code, and I've driven it maybe 25 miles now, and the code has not returned. The car is operating fine, no sluggishness, no roughness - totally no evidence of any problem now.