Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Outback XT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at a post, I have read everything I can find related to the 5EAT problems on this forum and thought I would see if anybody can help me with my issue. The car is a 2008 OBXT Limited with the 5EAT. The original symptom was that the transmission would not down shift out of 3rd gear when coming to a stop and then stall (similar to leaving a manual trans in 3rd and pushing the brakes without pushing the clutch thus killing the engine.) I took it to the local Subaru dealership and they found code P0741, performed a transmission re-learn, reflashed the TCM and noted that the turbine speed sensor harness plug had some damage. I elected to NOT replace the sensor harness at that time and drove off. The transmission acted normal through town and out onto the highway but within 40 or 50 miles (I am 70 miles from the closest dealership) the code kicked on again and the car went into safe mode. At this time, however, the torque converter didn't stay locked when I came to a halt. I called the dealership when I got home, cleared the code P0741 with Free SSM, and it drove fine for another 50 miles before going into limp mode again. This time, I decided to replace the entire sensor harness (the harness has all three speed sensors on the outside of the transmission, and connects to the valve body inside the pan). I also drained and refilled with 8 quarts of Valvoline Max Life ATF (I know many of you don't like this ATF so please let me know if this is part of my problem) and put in a new battery. After the new sensor harness, new battery and new ATF I took three test drives on 3 consecutive days. Day 1: 5 miles mixed driving without problem and normal shifting. Day 2: 10 miles mixed driving, slight rev between shift 2-3, got home added 1 quart of ATF since dip stick showed low. Day 3: 30 miles mostly highway driving with normal shifting, then the car st