Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of August's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Forum newbie here. I purchased a 2011 3.6R Premium in October of 2020 at 78K miles. Since then, I've done a lot to maintain the car (changed transmission fluid, 2 oil changes every 3,000 miles, throttle body was cleaned etc). However, ever since I've been going on long trips with friends or even just driving around, I noticed that timing is off quite a bit when I want to put my foot down and the car struggles. I know the 3.6r can boogie and my brothers 2016 3.6r has more noticeable get up and go but I'm really not sure why mine doesn't other than the fact it's older but still has low miles (85k miles). The Subi guy I go to said he may have heard "detonation" while we were driving around and that I should fill up with 93 from Shell for a few tanks and see if that helps. This is my third tank of 93 and i'm still getting some sluggishness with a slight increase in power from the higher octane fuel. What do you guys think?

-Dylan

·
Super Moderator
Outback 2011 3.6R Premium
2,489 Posts
I am wondering if your injectors are blocked and not working properly.

You could try a double dose of injector cleaner (Techron etc) to see if this makes a difference.

Seagrass

·
Registered
2013 3.6R Limited
1,092 Posts
^^ What he said. Chevron's Techron is a great product. All of our vehicles get a 20-ounce bottle of it down the fuel filler hatch at every oil & filter change. I would try that as your next step.

·
Registered
'10 3.6R Outback Limited, 2zr swapped Toyota Yaris track toy, '12 Mazda3 skyactiv
730 Posts
Grab a scanner that can read live data and focus on fuel trims. That will help point you in the direction if it being fuel related or not.