Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Outback 6-speed MT 2.5
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and not a mechanic. I have a 2011 OB 2.5 6 speed MT which I bought just under a year ago with 123,000 miles. For the last 6 months or so, I notice a 'grumbling' on tight turns after the car has heated up. It might not even happen every time, but often enough, and especially if I have been doing a lot of highway driving.

From what I have read, I think it is the Viscous coupler. I have not rotated my tires or checked or changed the rear or center differential oil. Will doing that fix my problem, or am I in for a viscous coupler replacement?

Will it cause further damage to the car if I wait on this expensive repair? I have read on various forums that it can cost $1200 - 1800.

·
Registered
2000 Outback Limited, Dual Range 5 Speed
904 Posts
Before we jump to the viscous coupler, does the noise get loader when you turn one way and disappear when turning the other, could be wheel bearing.

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Limited, VF37, STI intake, 5MT
1,559 Posts
Does the grumbling come with shuddering, popping, or a binding-sensation (like it doesn't want to go forward without good force)?

If so, I'd say it a decent chance it's a center diff issue. If not, I'd suspect wheel bearing(s) or even a brake backing plate issue.

·
Registered
18,193 Posts
Also . . .

I am a newbie and not a mechanic. I have a 2011 OB 2.5 6 speed MT which I bought just under a year ago with 123,000 miles. For the last 6 months or so, I notice a 'grumbling' on tight turns after the car has heated up. It might not even happen every time, but often enough, and especially if I have been doing a lot of highway driving.