Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
white 2013 subaru outback 2.5i 6 speed manual
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey what's up guys, there are a lot of threads on here about fuel efficiency shift points. What about normal driving? My fuel efficiancy has gone out the window with the freeway i take to and from work normal speeds being 80-85 mph. I find myself at closer to the 3k mark when I shift. Since this is higher than most things I've read is there anything I need to know about shifting at too high an rpm.? I've always thought too low was worse. But I'm very new to stick. Any info would be greatly appreciated... I have a big hill when I leave my house and I feel right at the top of fourth gear right around 29-31k my car gets some balls and takes off. Is it ok to creep in to that range or is that working the 2.5 too hard? I know it's not an Sti impreza but its still fun to drive not like a grandma. And coming from a giant lifted truck getting 12 mpg 24 that I've been getting is good to me and it handles like a dream compared to what I'm used too. Looking forward too hearing back.

·
Registered
2014 2.5i Limited
950 Posts
Casual driving shift point for my wifes car is between 3-3.5K RPM. She shifts around 2.5K and it sounds and feels too low...But she has a 2010 which does not have as low a torque curve as your 2013 2.5l.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Sport. Love the Orange.
4,018 Posts
....... What about normal driving? My fuel efficiancy has gone out the window with the freeway i take to and from work normal speeds being 80-85 mph.......
The answer is in your question. ;) Your shift points are not what's killing your mileage.

·
Registered
2013 Outback 2.5 Premium 6mt
187 Posts