Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I made a thread the other day asking about oil changes. I received a few links from helpful members and did some reading. I have some noob questiosn before I get started. I know nothing about mechanics and I've never done this before, so bare with the noob questions.

1) the guide says "remove the oil filter using a general tool (65/67 mm 14 flutes). wth is that? Can't I just use my hands?

2) wth is an "oil pump union?" Do I need to concern myself with this?

3) Do I really need to buy a torque wrench to tighten to oil filter and drain plug gasket?

4) I should be ordering a 12 pack of these, correct? https://www.subaruonlineparts.com/product_info.php?cPath=32_108_152&products_id=1538

5) What is a drain plug gasket? will it be obvious/easy to remove when i'm under the vehicle?

Thanks!

·
Registered
Somebody Else's XT
14,435 Posts
Hello all. I made a thread the other day asking about oil changes. I received a few links from helpful members and did some reasons. I have some noob questiosn before I get started. I know nothing about mechanics and I've never done this before, so bare with the noob questions.

1) the guide says "remove the oil filter using a general tool (65/67 mm 14 flutes). wth is that? Can't I just use my hands?

2) wth is an "oil pump union?" Do I need to concern myself with this?

3) Do I really need to buy a torque wrench to tighten to oil filter and drain plug gasket?

4) I should be ordering a 12 pack of these, correct? https://www.subaruonlineparts.com/product_info.php?cPath=32_108_152&products_id=1538

5) What is a drain plug gasket? will it be obvious/easy to remove when i'm under the vehicle?

Thanks!