Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just another story on changing spark plugs on a late model Subaru. I'm an experienced mechanic, but when you do something for the first time on anything you can run into little frustrations. At 75000 miles my 2015, 2.5 Outback was running fine, but I decided to do the Subaru 60000 mile spark plug change anyway. I read some posts from this forum and watched a couple you tubes on this procedure. Here's what I learned which might help the next guy doing this plug change. First off I opted to do the engine- lift procedure to better access the plugs. I know that some guys don't do it this way, but in scoping out my engine bay beforehand I felt that I couldn't cram my fat hands down between the frame rails and valve covers to even unbolt the coils, let alone remove the plugs. So off came the bottom engine cover/shroud. This was one of the little pains in the whole process. I marked all the places on the cover where there were either bolts (3) or plastic "break" clips (a bunch). This made it much easier for me to put the thing back into place when I was done, as there are way more holes in the cover than there are retainers. The other pain for me was that I was not familiar with the release procedure for the plastic clips on the coils, and the articles and you tubes I watched did not make it any more clear for me. Once the bottom cover was off I used a 12" long piece of 2" by 2" wood to place between a floor jack and one of the heads. I removed both rear-only motor mount nuts, and jacked the motor up one side at a time so that the bolt on the lifted side was just below the mount...this raised the motor a little more than an inch, and I didn't have to worry that the motor might slip sideways during the process. I found out the hard way that the coil connectors should be sprayed with WD 40, or the like, before attempting removal. The little spring clips have to be pressed inward while